Skip to Content

Math Team and Mu Alpha Theta Inductees Recognized at Founder's Day


Montini Catholic's Math Team and Mu Alpha Theta inductees were recognized at the Lasallian college preparatory high school's annual Founder's Day Ceremony on Friday, May 20, 2022.  (The Math Department, under the direction of chair and coach, Mrs. Chrissy McManaus '88, held its Mu Alpha Theta Induction and Mathematics Awards Ceremony earlier in May after securing a 6th Place state finish!)

Inducted into Montini Catholic's Mu Alpha Theta National Mathematics Honor Society were:

Michael Crowley '23, Anjay Dhir '24, Matthew DiSimone '23, Justin Gergen '22, Miguel Jaojoco '22, Thira Minauskas '23, Amanda Mrazek '23, Charlie Nielsen '22, Will Prater '23, Lucy Rizzi '24 and Matthew Silveyra '25;

Outgoing senior Mu Alpha Theta officers were also recognized:   Joshua Tolefree, President, Guadalupe Herrmann, Vice President, Audrey Kekstadt, Secretary and Sarah Ernat, Publicity Officer;

In addition, five seniors were celebrated for being four-year Math Team Members: Sarah Ernat, Guadalupe Herrmann, Ryan Hubeny,  John McNamara,  Joshua Tolefree 

This year's Bronco Math Team secured a 6th Place state finish!  The 2021-22 season began with the Catholic Math League South competitions held at Montini, Mother McAuley, with the third being held remotely.  The league is made up of  a group of 12 A and AA Catholic schools, primarily located in the southern suburbs of Chicago. "It contains such mathematical powerhouses as Marist and Marmion Academy," informed Mrs. McManus.

The Bronco team followed up our CMLS meets with a 6th place finish at the Lemont Invitational, which was made up of 21 A and AA schools. "In February, we also participated in the Math Teachers Association (MTA) Invitational," McManus added.  "This event is for the top 6 mathletes from Catholic Chicagoland schools.  Our team finished in 3rd place competing up a level in the AA division.  All six competitors had scores that would have placed them in the top ten individually for A division!" The Regional meet was held remotely and did not include 2-person team events.  

The Broncos finished in 2nd place, earning top 3 finishes in five events.  "We are the only region in our division to qualify at least two schools for the State Math Meet for at least the past 26 consecutive years!  This year four schools from our region finished in the top 10 for State.  Additionally, Montini is one of only two teams, and the only Catholic team, in Division 2A to qualify for the State Meet for the past twenty-one consecutive years- and finish within the top 11 during these years."

2022 Montini Catholic's Bronco Team/Individual State Final Results:

Algebra 1 Individual: 9th place -  Matthew Silveyra; 10th place - Conor Kaefer; Algebra 1 team - 6th place Algebra 2 team - 9th place; Precalculus team - 8th place; Frosh-Soph 8 person team - 7th place; Jr-Sr 8 person team - 7th place; Calculator team - 4th place; Oral team of Justin Gergen and Lupe Herrmann - 2nd place

Mathematics League Awards this year went to: Varsity:   1st Place - Miguel Jaojoco and Alex Silveyra ; 2nd Place - Joshua Tolefree; 3rd Place - Thomas Cyze;  Junior Varsity: 1st Place - Sam Hemmersmeier; 2nd Place - Conor Kaefer  

ICTM Scholar Award went to two seniors who completed 3 or more college-level math courses with distinction:   Guadalupe Herrmann and Audrey Kekstadt 

Rising Star Award - Mathematics Scholarships

Gerry Marcioux Memorial Scholarship -   Junior Thomas Cyze 

Robert Huntoon Memorial Scholarship - Junior Alexander Silveyra 

Photos above:

Mu Alpha Theta Inductees 2022 - Alphabetical Order left to right as listed above

Math Team Photo (Founder's Day) - Front l to r:  Joshua Tolefree '22, Audrey Kekstadt '22, Anna D'Anca '23, Sarah Ernat '22, Guadalupe Herrmann '22, Izzy Jaojoco 25, Matthew Silveyra '25, Alex Silveyra '23, Coach Chrissy McManus, William Prater '23, Chris Zayed '25, Sam Hemmersmeier '24, Ruben Galvan '24, Marin Ferris '24, John McNamara '22 and Coach Maria Louis;  Back Row:  Miguel Jaojoco '22, Andrew Miller '24, Julian D'Anca '25, Daniel Sherman '25, Conor Kaefer '25, Coach Barry Briggs, Anderson Martin '25, Matt DiSimone '23, Michael Crowley '23, Anjay Dhir '24 and Coach Don Krystof;  Not pictured: Ray Li, Lucas Racine 

PlusPortals Sign In

Can't access your account?